Tyarrah Walker

Tyarrah Walker is a 21 year old Supply Chain Management major from Little Rock, Arkansas. She currently is the Howard University Springfest Trunk Show Chair (2016), Howard University Arkansas Club Founder/ President, CLIQUE Founder/CEO, and was a 2015 Fall New York Fashion Week Intern. She enjoys reading, shopping, and spending time with family and friends. Tyarrah is clearly dedicated and determined to succeed. She is definitely someone to be on the lookout for!

IG & Twitter: @tyarrah_

IG & Twitter: @beencliqued

beencliqued.com (stay tuned…)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tierra: What inspires you or influences you the most?

Tyarrah: Probably my little sister, just because like… when I look at my sister and I think about all the stuff that I wish I would’ve did, or wish I would’ve had and I think about my sister and how I can provide that for her…Like teach her to not make the same mistakes I made, and I just want a better life for her than I had.

Tierra: So, you have your own business, correct?

Tyarrah: Yes, it’s an online marketplace for emerging designers, called CLIQUE.

Tierra: So when did you find out that this is something that you are passionate about?

Tyarrah: I always knew that I was like super into fashion! I’ve always been an entrepreneur. Like when I was young I use to try to like… sell ANYTHING. literally ANYTHING to people. And then I always knew I was into fashion, like in the 4th grade I used to sketch and I though I wanted to be a fashion designer and then it turned out that that’s not what I wanted to do… And so I wanted to create something where everybody could work together. At first I was just going to start an online consignment shop and then when I was trying to do that and I knew a lot of people in that industry… but nobody wanted to help. And I didn’t like that “crab in the bucket” mentality so I was like okay, well I’m going to start something where everybody can work together, and everybody can eat… And that’s where the concept of CLIQUE came from. 

Tierra: If you could go back in time, what advice would you give your teenage self?

Tyarrah: Just chill out. Like… everything works out. Don’t be so pressed about things… and don’t worry about the future because the future is not even here yet. 

Tierra: If you had the opportunity to get a message across to a large group of young African-American people what would your message be?

Tyarrah: My message would be, time is of the essence. We waste too much time not doing anything that’s actually benefitting ourselves or benefitting other people. Like, people do so much stuff without purpose these days. So, that’s what it is. It’s crunch time. It’s time to stop doing stuff that doesn’t matter. Time to start working, and building a legacy for the people that come after us. 

Tierra: What song do you listen to that motivates you?

Tyarrah: Currently, well… I think through every season I have a different song that represents what I’m going through in my life at that time. And I think the song that I like the most right now is Ultralight Beam by Kanye West and Chance the Rapper

Tierra: What’s the wisest thing you have ever heard someone say?

Tyarrah: I think the wisest and the most simple thing I’ve heard someone say is… “Believers believe, period.” So, it’s like, no matter what it is. No matter how it looks like there’s no solution… Believers believe, period. And that’s just it. 

Tierra: How do you think media portrays the lives, struggles, joys of young African-American people today?

Tyarrah: I think media only portrays the joys of African-American people. Like they only portray what they want to appropriate. I don’t think media really knows what it’s like to be a Black person, they just see the ” cool ” things. Like, it’s cool to dress like that… it’s cool to wear your hair like that… But they don’t actually see the struggles of the African-American community, or actually understand us either. 

Tierra: Do you feel like social media plays a really big role in how young people are acting today?

Tyarrah: I think it plays a huge role. Like when I think about when I was growing up, the only thing we really had as far as social media… we had like, Myspace, Facebook, and stuff like that but even then we were only following like people we knew. We weren’t following like, celebrities, and things like that and trying to get our bodies to look like this, or our hair…things that are unrealistic. And I think that social media just portrays this BIG image that’s not true. So people are trying to become that. And it’s a blessing and a curse honestly. 

 

Leave a Reply

